Its original name is Raja Mahendri or Raja Mahendravaram. It was the first capital of any known Telugu Kingdom. The Chalukya ruler Rajaraja Narendra ruled this city around 1022. The city has traces of 11th century fine palaces, and fort walls. However, new archeological evidence suggests that the city may have existed far before the Chalukyas.In the Middle Ages, it was called Raja Mahendra Varam.

Later the name underwent various changes to Rajahmahendravaram, Rajahmahendramu, Rajamandramu and Rajahmundhri. It later became Rajahmundry during British rule. Nannayya, the poet laureate, who was called 'Adi Kavi' (The first Poet) of telugu belonged to this place. He, along with Tikkana and Yerrana, is responsible for the translation of Jaya, Sanskrit version of Mahabharata, into telugu. It is the birthplace of telugu literature. Kandukuri Veeresalingam, who is a social reformer and also the author of Rajashekhara Charithra, the first Telugu novel, is also from Rajahmundry. He himself married a widow and is against bad practices in society.

Rajahmundry - The Historical city is famous all over the A.P for its Political, Economical, Social, Cultural background. In its earlier days it was called Rajahmahendrapuram. Later the name was changed to Rajahmahendravaram and in later stages during the reign of Mohammedans and British rule the name underwent many changes like  Rajahmahendramu, Rajamandramu,  Rajahmundhri  and  finally

now Rajahmundry. Some people call it with the name "Rajahmahendri" also. Some people call it with the name "Rajahmahendri" also.

Independence movement and Rajahmundry:
1885 - 1905:

Indian National Congress conducted its first meeting in the year 1885 in Bombay(Now Mumbai). Mr.Nyapathi Subba Rao and Mr.Kandukuri Veeresalingam were the important person from Rajahmundry. Mr.Subba Rao was the first president of Rajahmundry Bar Association which was established in the year 1895. He was the founder of "Hindu Samaj" in Rajahmundry. He was also one of the six founders of the Englishdaily "The Hindu" at Madras(Now Chennai). He was the secretary of Congress comittee of AP in 1915-1916. He was the leader of the team who met Montague for the formation of AP as a separate state. The first person to state after Mr.Subba Rao is Mr.Mocharla Ramachandra Rao who worked as Junior with Mr.Subbarao.He worked as Rajahmundry Muncipal Chairman for 2 yrs. Rajahmundry Municipality is the oldest Muncipality in AP. It used to have an annual income of 50,000/- to 60,000/- during 1899. Some Memorable years in the Rajahmundry History:

Some Memorable years in the Rajahmundry History :
1867 - Establishment of Sub-collector's office.
1885 - Establishment of Secondary grade college.
1893 - Railroad construction between Rajahmundry and Vijayawada.
1894 - Establishment of Govt Training college
1898 - Establishment of Gowtami Grandhalayam(Library) by Mr.NalamKrishna Rao and Vaddadi Subbaraidu.

Rajahmahendrapuram - Its establishment:
It is difficult to know the history of this city before Chalukya's. Basing on the few proofs gathered by the Historians, two theories exist about the origin of Rajahmundry.
• According to the first theory, Rajahmundry was established by Ammaraja Vishnuvardhana, the first (919 - 934 AD). Some people believe in this theory as Vishnuvardhana had the title "Rajamahendra". His predecessor Ammaraja Vijayaditya, the second (945 - 970 AD) had Rajaraja Narendra (1022 - 1061 AD) had the same title "Rajamahendra".
• According to the second Theory, Rajaraja Narendra established the city Rajahmahendrapuram. This theory was based on the statement "Rajamahendrapura sthatha RajarajaNarendra". (Kavyalankara Chudamani written by Pedanna). Both the theories didn't have any Archeological proofs. But the proofs in the recent excavations show that this city belongs to the reign even before Eastern Chalukya's.

Rulers of Rajahmundry
• Rajaraja Narendra's reign (1020 -1072):
• Kakatiya rule (1323 AD - 1352 AD)
• Reddy's & Gajapathi's rule (1353 - 1448 AD)
• Anavota Reddy (1335 - 1364 AD)
• Anavema Reddy (1364 -1386 AD)
• Komaragiri (Kumaragiri) Reddy (1386 - 1402 AD)
• Katayavema Reddy (1395 - 1414 AD)
• Allada Reddy (1414 - 1423 AD)
• Veerabhadra Reddy (1423 - 1448)